Changes – #Dblogweek Day 4

Next week, marks 27years of Type 1 Diabetes for me! Wow! It’s flown by!

It feels like things have changed hugely over those years, especially in education, medicine/science and technology. From blood sugar meters, to insulin,  pens, pumps and a whole lot more. Plus support.

When I was diagnosed, my hospital put me and my folks in touch with another family who had a girl, similar age with Type 1. That was the closest I got to engaging with someone else with diabetes. It was great and a huge help to me and my parents.

Years later, discovering the #doc on Twitter was amazing. Suddenly I wasn’t so alone. Having support and interaction from so many people who understand what it’s like, the hypos, the highs, the frustrations, the help and advice has been magic, I’ve learnt so much. And I can’t thank you all enough for keeping me going and making me smile lots xx

Leave a Reply

